TISC Suite

TISC Suite

Summary

Coupling of multiple simulation programs

TISC Suite is a co-simulation environment that our customers can use to combine calculation models across simulators to form and simulate a complete system. Our software package contains various applications as well as interfaces to simulation programs and hardware which enable the control of the co-simulation and the data exchange between the individual model simulations.

Software Package

Structure and content

TISC Suite consists of the Simulation Package and the Control Package. The Simulation Package is used for coupling models and contains all the software modules required for the simulation layer. It contains the simulator interfaces, the TISC server, which enables data exchange between the interfaces, as well as other auxiliary tools for simulation and visualization.

 

The Control Package enables the central control and configuration of simulation tools and thus, efficient simulation execution, which is particularly useful for large simulation tasks. The Control Package contains the TISC Center and the ControlClient for singular, distributed simulations, as well as the BatchCenter for larger simulation tasks with parameter variations. 

 

In addition to simulation programs, hardware - e.g. measurement technology, bus systems (CAN/LIN) and test benches - can also be connected via hardware interfaces (so-called gateways).

Figure 1: Coupling and control of simulation programs by the TISC server and connection to hardware via gateways

Simulation Package

Synchronized coupling of simulation tools

The Simulation Package comprises the TISC server and various auxiliary tools. The TISC server is used to link the simulation models, i.e. to exchange data and synchronize the individual partial simulations. At the start of the calculation, all simulation programs connect to the server via a TCP/IP network connection. In this way, the models can be executed in parallel and on different computers. The auxiliary tools FileSource, TIM, and SendingClient are used for example, to specify boundary conditions, retrieve simulation data online, or dynamically adjust the values of variables at simulation time.

Figure 2: TISC Simulation layer

Synchronization of the individual models is a key consideration when coupling simulation models. The main synchronization rate of a model is therefore set to a constant step size in TISC before the start of the simulation. If necessary, however, this step size can be adjusted over time according to the dynamics of the system. It is possible to assign a step size that differs from the main synchronization rate to the individual submodels.

 

The discrete-time exchange of variables can lead to numerical inaccuracies. TISC uses separate extrapolation and smoothing procedures to limit these inaccuracies.

Control Package

Central parameterization and execution

The TISC Control Package enables central configuration and control of models used in the co-simulation. Without this element, individual simulations would have to be configured in their native simulation program and started manually. This makes the Control Package particularly useful for simulations with more than three individual simulations, and for spatially distributed simulations.

Figure 3: Central configuration in the TISC Center

The TISC Control Package works with the TISC Center as the central user interface. The TISC Center provides an overview of the simulation models available for co-simulation and allows selection and parameterization of these models, including their parameterization. For a model to be recognized and addressed by the TISC Center, it is analyzed once using the TIPS tool and prepared for later use in the simulation network. In this way, the entire co-simulation can be operated using a central program and started with the touch of a button. The Control Package uses the TISC ControlClient for this purpose. These communicate with the TISC Center and can execute individual partial simulations on different computers in the network.

 

The TISC Center also enables the simple display and evaluation of transmitted data, both online during the simulation and in post-processing. DaVE is recommended for more detailed analysis.

 

The TISC BatchCenter allows automated parametric studies to be carried out based on existing TISC Center configurations.

Figure 4: Parameter variation in the TISC BatchCenter

Simulator Interfaces

Connecting simulators to TISC

TISC can be used either via simulator-specific interfaces or flexibly via libraries directly in the source code.

 

The libraries are based on the following programming languages:

  • Python
  • C/C++
  • Java
  • Fortran

Interfaces are available for the following simulators:

  • MATLAB / Simulink
  • Dymola (Modelica)
  • KULI
  • Simcenter Flomaster
  • EXCEL
  • LabVIEW
  • GT-Suite
  • THESEUS-FE
  • Ascet-MD
  • STAR-CCM+
  • FMI Controller

In addition, the following interfaces are prepared for customer-specific use:

  • Ansys Mechanical
  • Ansys CFX
  • Ansys Fluent
  • AVL Cruise
  • CAN Gateway
  • DIAdem
  • INCA
  • SIMATIC S7-PLCSIM
  • STAR-CD
  • TRNSYS
  • VECTIS
  • Wave

Hardware Interfaces

Connecting hardware and measurement software

Various hardware such as test benches, HiL systems (e.g. dSpace), control systems (e.g. PLC) and measurement software (e.g. CANape, LabVIEW) can be connected to the co-simulation network via hardware interfaces, so-called gateways. For example, a laptop can be connected to a CAN bus via a PCMCIA card; a TISC gateway enables bidirectional communication between the bus participants and the TISC server. This makes it easy to create a connection between the real and the simulated world.

 

The TISC LabVIEW interface can be used to connect measurement technology from National Instruments, for example. Control systems such as SIMATIC S7 can be addressed via an Ethernet gateway and other control systems can be accessed via ASAM HIL API.

Contact

Your contact partner

If you have any questions on this topic, please contact:

Dipl.-Ing. Hinnerk Fischer

+49 / 531 / 390 76 - 253

TISC Suite

TISC Suite

Kurzfassung

Kopplung mehrerer Simulationsprogramme

Die TISC Suite ist eine Co-Simulationsumgebung, mit deren Hilfe unsere Kunden Berechnungsmodelle simulatorübergreifend zu einem Gesamtsystem verbinden und dieses simulieren können. Unser Softwarepaket enthält verschiedene Anwendungen sowie Schnittstellen zu Simulationsprogrammen und Hardware, welche die Steuerung der Co-Simulation und den Datenaustausch zwischen den einzelnen Modellsimulationen ermöglichen.

 

Das Softwarepaket

Aufbau und Inhalt

Die TISC Suite besteht aus dem Simulation Package und dem Control Package. Das Simulation Package dient der Koppelung und enthält jegliche Software-Bausteine, die für den Simulation-Layer erforderlich sind. Das Paket enthält die Simulator-Schnittstellen, den TISC Server, der den Datenaustausch zwischen den Schnittstellen ermöglicht, sowie weitere Hilfstools zur Simulations- Bedatung und Visualisierung.
Das Control Package ermöglicht die zentrale Steuerung und Konfiguration von Simulationswerkzeugen und damit eine effiziente Simulationsdurchführung, die insbesondere für große Simulationsaufgaben sinnvoll ist. Das Control Package enthält das TISC Center und den ControlClient für singuläre, verteilte Simulationen, sowie das BatchCenter für größere Simulationsaufgaben mit Parametervariationen. 
Neben Simulationsprogrammen kann auch optional Hardware – z.B. Messtechnik, Bussysteme (CAN/LIN) und Prüfstände – über Hardware-Schnittstellen (sogenannte Gateways) angebunden werden. 
Abbildung 1: Kopplung und Steuerung von Simulationsprogrammen durch den TISC Server sowie Anbindung an Hardware über Gateways

Simulation Package

Synchronisierte Kopplung von Simulationswerkzeugen

Das Simulation Package umfasst den TISC Server sowie verschiedene Hilfswerkzeuge. Der TISC Server dient der Koppelung der Simulationsmodelle, also dem Datenaustausch und der Synchronisation der einzelnen Teilsimulationen. Zu Beginn der Berechnung verbinden sich alle Simulationsprogramme über eine TCP/IP-Netzwerkverbindung mit dem Server. Auf diese Weise können die Modelle parallel und auf verschiedenen Rechnern ausgeführt werden. Die Hilfswerkzeuge FileSource, TIM und SendingClient werden genutzt, um z.B. Randbedingungen vorzugegeben, Simulationsdaten online abzurufen oder Werte von Variablen zur Simulationszeit dynamisch anzupassen.

Abbildung 2: TISC Simulation Layer

Bei der Koppelung von Simulationsmodellen spielt die Synchronisationsrate der einzelnen Modelle eine entscheidende Rolle. Die Hauptsynchronisationsrate eines Modells wird deshalb in TISC vor Simulationsbeginn auf eine konstante Schrittweite festgelegt. Gegebenenfalls kann diese Schrittweite jedoch – entsprechend der Dynamik des zu simulierenden Systems – zeitabhängig angepasst werden. Es ist möglich, den einzelnen Teilmodellen eine von der Hauptsynchronisationsrate abweichende Schrittweite zuzuweisen.
Der zeitdiskrete Austausch der Variablen kann prinzipbedingt zu numerischen Ungenauigkeiten führen. Sollte das der Fall sein, werden diese in TISC durch gesonderte Extrapolations- und Glättungsverfahren reduziert. 

Control Package

Zentrale Parametrierung und Ausführung

Das TISC Control Package ermöglicht die zentrale Konfiguration und Steuerung der in der Co-Simulation verwendeten Modelle. Ohne dieses Element müssten die einzelnen Modellsimulationen im entsprechenden Simulationsprogramm eingestellt und jeweils von Hand gestartet werden. Insofern bietet sich der Einsatz des Control Packages vor allem bei Simulationen mit mehr als drei Teilsimulationen oder bei räumlich verteilten Simulationen an.

Abbildung 3: Zentrale Konfiguration im TISC Center

Das TISC Control Package arbeitet mit dem TISC Center als zentrale Nutzerschnittstelle. Das TISC Center bietet einen Überblick über die für die Co-Simulation zur Verfügung stehenden Simulationsmodelle und erlaubt eine einfache Auswahl dieser Modelle inkl. deren Parametrierung. Damit ein Modell durch das TISC Center erkannt und angesprochen werden kann, wird es mithilfe des Werkzeugs TIPS einmalig analysiert und für die spätere Verwendung im Simulationsverbund vorbereitet. Die gesamte Co-Simulation kann auf diese Weise mittels eines zentralen Programms bedient und durch einen einzigen Knopfdruck gestartet werden. Zu diesem Zweck setzt das Control Package den TISC ControlClient ein. Diese kommunizieren mit dem TISC Center und können einzelne Teilsimulationen auf unterschiedlichen Computern im Netzwerk zur Ausführung bringen.
Weiterhin erlaubt das TISC Center eine einfache Darstellung und Auswertung der übertragenen Daten, sowohl online während der Simulation als auch im Post-Processing. Für detailliertere Betrachtungen empfiehlt sich das Werkzeug DaVE.
Durch das TISC BatchCenter können automatisiert Parameterstudien, basierend auf bestehenden TISC Center Konfigurationen, durchgeführt werden.

Abbildung 4: Das TISC Batch Center - Parametervariation

Simulator-Schnittstellen

Anbindung von Simulatoren an TISC

TISC kann entweder mittels simulatorspezifischer Schnittstellen oder flexibel durch Bibliotheken direkt im Quellcode verwendet werden. 
Die Bibliotheken basieren auf folgenden Programmiersprachen:
  • Python
  • C/C++
  • Java
  • Fortran
Zu folgenden Simulatoren sind Schnittstellen zu TISC verfügbar:
  • MATLAB / Simulink       
  • Dymola (Modelica)   
  • KULI                        
  • Simcenter Flomaster      
  • EXCEL               
  • LabVIEW
  • GT-Suite
  • THESEUS-FE
  • Ascet-MD               
  • STAR-CCM+
  • FMI Controller
Zusätzlich sind folgende Schnittstellen für eine kundenspezifischen Einsatz vorbereitet:
  • Ansys Mechanical
  • Ansys CFX       
  • Ansys Fluent     
  • AVL Cruise
  • CAN Gateway
  • DIAdem
  • INCA
  • SIMATIC S7-PLCSIM
  • STAR-CD
  • TrnSYS
  • VECTIS
  • Wave

Hardware-Schnittstellen

Anbindung von Hardware und Messsoftware

Über Hardware-Schnittstellen, sogenannte Gateways, können verschiedene Hardware wie Prüfstände, HiL-Systeme (z.B. dSpace), Steuerungssysteme (z.B. SPS) sowie Mess-Software (z.B. CANape, LabVIEW) an den Co-Simulationsverbund angeschlossen werden. Beispielsweise kann ein Laptop über eine PCMCIA-Karte mit einem CAN-Bus verbunden werden, ein TISC Gateway ermöglicht die bidirektionale Kommunikation zwischen den Bus-Teilnehmern und dem TISC Server. Hierdurch kann auf einfache Weise eine Verbindung zwischen der realen und der simulierten Welt geschaffen werden.
Mittels der TISC LabVIEW-Schnittstelle kann z.B. die Messtechnik von National Instruments angebunden werden. Steuerungssysteme wie SIMATIC S7 können über ein Ethernet Gateway angesprochen und über ASAM HIL API kann auf weitere Steuerungssysteme zugegriffen werden.

KONTAKT

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Bei Fragen zu diesem Thema wenden Sie sich bitte an: 

Dipl.-Ing. Hinnerk Fischer

+49 / 531 / 390 76 - 253